Walking The Shadows

Nae's Nest —  September 9, 2012 — 4 Comments
You put me under your spell
Everytime I look into your eyes
My heart begins to race
Running a marathon
My knees grow weak
Making it impossible to run
I begin to feel faint
You take me in your arms
You are always there
Keeping me from harm
Taking such good care of me
In this time of need
With all our work
And will all the prayers
We are bound to succeed
We have been walking
Through the shadows
For so long now
I am not sure what the light feels like
Sunshine on my face
While taking a short walk
Or sitting on the porch
Watching birds flock
It seems time was nailed shut
As if hidden behind a door
Refusing to tick for me
Making me suffer all the more
A never-ending illness
With never-ending treatment
Round and round
Never to end
I close my eyes and pretend
But then the bad dream starts
Terror jolting me awake
Pretending is a mistake
When my life is at stake
Fighting is as tiring
If not more than the disease
I’ve become so weak
I do not even recognize me
One day the shadows will turn to gray
Slowly blowing me away
The wind taking over
Bringing in a another day
I will heal in the sun
While prayers and songs
Are chanted and drifting
Along with the gray
Higher and higher
Knitting a day
Before every sunrise
Darkness must fall
Sometimes long black
Stormy nights
Thunder with electric might
Cold and bitter
Ice cold night
A storm without end
A body without fright
I am still in line
Waiting for my day to come
I wonder as the darkness
Grips tight with pain
When oh when
Will my eyes
No longer rain?
When oh when
Will the dark go to gray?
When of when
Will the gray
Knit a new day?
That is when
The pain goes away
That is when
My eyes wont rain
That is when
We can be happy again
That is when
Time rolls in with the tide
That is when
We know
I will not
Die
Renee Robinson
<3

 

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

4 responses to Walking The Shadows

  1. 

    The skull inside the rose. Better to see it than to pretend there is never one there.

    How are you doing? How’d the battle with cancer going? Hard to say it other than this way without mincing around the subject.

    Best,
    D

  2. 

    G’day Nae,

    Another inspiring and touching poem.

    Your posts are becoming frequent again. Are you feeling more yourself?

Leave a comment