First Place, Medal of Life

Nae's Nest —  November 9, 2013 — 6 Comments

RaceForLife

I am late with this entry.  I am much slower at fitting in my writing goals.  I little over a month ago I was in the hospital.  I had an internal bleed in the lower intestine.  Fortunately, it was not a “bad” bleed.  It stopped not long after my arrival to the hospital.  I  was in the hospital 3 days.  Doc wanted me to stay a little longer, but I convinced him that Del is the best nurse I’ve ever had.  Therefore, I would be OK.

I began to speak with my Doc about my life expectancy.  (A topic I had avoided until then).  He said, well you have actually done much better than most.  I have lived about a year longer than expected.

Wow.  It feels weird to know that I am a first place runner in this race.  In fact, I am in the 1% bracket.

Do not look at this as if I could die at any time.  Know that I am beating the odds.  So far, God is holding my hand and has kept me from teetering over to the other side.

In one hand I clasp the Medal of Life.  In the other, I hold the hand of Christ.

 

 

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

6 responses to First Place, Medal of Life

  1. 

    Dear Nae,
    I always knew you were a winner. Thank you for the update. You have more poems to write, stories to tell, and followers to educate.
    You are in my thoughts, and I am sending you love and virtual hugs.
    Naomi

  2. 

    I’m glad that was a short hospital stay. And your hand holding gave me shivers of light and hope. Wow.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. First Place, Medal of Life | A Spooky-Boo Halloween - November 9, 2013

    […] via First Place, Medal of Life. […]

Leave a Reply

