Makes You Wanna Cuddle

Nae's Nest —  February 1, 2013 — Leave a comment

 

Now I have to admit….I would have never thought I’d hear myself say “ahhhh, lookie at the cute iddy-biddy bat”.  Mind you, I never disliked them…well, except for that one time when one got tangled up in my hair.  That was a dreadful experience. I nearly went bats. (Ok..Jake at poemsandponderings.wordpress.com….I know you won’t let that go) One has to admit…this little bugger is sweet.  I  would even let him live in my neighbor’s attic (sorry Spark n Nae, giggles)

Actually, I do like to watch them come out at night and head-dive (as long as it isn’t my head) for insects.  No thanks to Count Dracula,  bats do get a bad rep.  I wonder if there had never been a Dracula, how this would affect the public’s general reaction to the bat?

Perhaps we would bring them inside our homes.  Embrace them with love.  Train them to bring our slippers and fetch a stick.  Would we sleep all cuddled up to them?  Would we be seen taking them out for walks? (Word of caution, I’d recommend a short leash.  I wouldn’t want to see man’s best bloodsucker getting tangled in the phonelines.)

What delightful names would our loyal bats have?  “Flyball,” “Foul” or maybe “Strike!”  

If only history had been different for this little guy.  I wonder what things would be like today….It does give one something to think about.

Quick facts

Bats are not actually blind, but they do have terrible eyesight.  The rely on “echo location” which is very similar to sonar.

They can eat over 3,000 insects a night.

A Baby Bat is called a Pup.

Bats are classified as Mammals.  Just like you and me.  Isn’t that fangtastic?

*I  Fang You very much for taking the time to read. xxoxx – Renee

(Ok Jake…I can hear the wheels turning, no way you can keep quiet now)

source:http://babyanimalz.com

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

