A Life Sentence

Nae's Nest —  January 31, 2013 — Leave a comment

Tears were shed as she gave them the news

The fight is over, no need to worry

Now is the time to live, to love and to feel

The sentence was given by a hung jury

All of them convinced, refusing to give her the chair

Only one holding out, not so sure what was right

For days the verdict was held up

The others complained, but she had to do what was right

Giving her a life sentence was not so easy

Although the others disagreed saying

She deserves Life. What more do you need?

Now, please, can we move on? Can’t we proceed?

The lone juror held on to her thoughts

She looked into the suspect’s eyes

She studied them everyday

She could see how her heart cries

A soft gentle soul, tired and broken

She’d been tortured and abused

She was not a bad person

She had been beaten and used

She was driven into a frenzy

She fought to hang on

Finally, she broke

Her ambition.. Poof! It was gone

This was bigger than she

She meant no harm

She just couldn’t take anymore

So, she put down her arms

Giving up, she surrendered

She could no longer fight

Choosing death instead

She believed it her right

Who was I disagree?, so thought the juror

I know what she feels day after day

I know what it is like

It is her face I see, when I look in the mirror

Sometimes “Life” is a sentence standing alone

No time to support it, no more years to roam

The soul grows restless, ready to move on

Death the next adventure for her to explore

Her decision did not come easy

Well thought out and calculated

Life!

The others said

This was contemplated!

The lone juror, held on for the others

It was for them, she continued to fight

Reaching the point beyond exhaustion

She’d tried to hold on, hold on tight

She did so for you…

and you…

and you…

Pointing to each juror

You are who I live for

And

It is you who must learn to let go

A body gets weak and broken

Pain comes and goes with the tide

One day running into the next

There is no where to run, no where to hide

There is no end, no mercy, no peace

Until Finally

You will do anything for relief

For this crime, I will serve my time

A life sentence, a new world, a new home

I am at peace for I know I will see you again

For one day we all must join in

My love for you I take with me

Along with each and every memory

For these are things which never die

These are the reasons I live

These are the reasons I die

For death would be such a cold and lonely place

If memories could not along

I will hang them up like pictures

Reminders of my

Home Sweet Home

The lone juror put down her mirror

And she hugged each and every juror

Thankful she was, they were all here…

Her final hour

She walked over to the chair

Leaning back, she softly sang

Of memories sweet

Softer and softer

Her voice grew

Until her song was complete

Out on a musical note

She enters into a kingdom

Her life’s song has moved on

Her body at rest

A smile on her lips

Her soul has been blessed

Renee Robinson

 

 

 

 

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

