Just One More Day…

Nae's Nest —  December 16, 2012 — 1 Comment

Yesterday I saw an outpour of concern throughout the paranormal community. Brian Harnois, former paranormal investigator on SyFy’s ‘Ghost Hunters‘, had posted what seemed to be a suicide note on his Facebook page yesterday. I read the note and it seemed he is battling some serious issues. One must realize that no matter what the problem is there is always help. Suicide is a permanent solution to many of life’s temporary problems. Suicide only hurts the people around you. When you think that all hope is lost keep searching for that hope. It is not lost.

Facebook and Twitter were buzzing with love and concern for Brian’s safe return. Many in the paranormal community posted heartfelt notes to his Facebook page as well. Thankfully at some point Brian was found. He is safe and seeking treatment at this time.

Suicide is a senseless act and I am glad to hear that he is okay. Growing up I always heard this saying, “God does not give you more than you can handle”. I am not a very religious person, but I do believe that we are strong enough to handle things in our lives. Times get tough for everyone. We need to be strong, especially those of us with children.

If you know of anyone going through rough times this holiday season, let them know you are there for them. Offer to help out in anyway you can. Call and offer to talk. Just be there. The holidays are often hard on people, lets not make it hard for someone else.

 

I came across the article above earlier this morning. (From the examiner.com) Given my situation with daily pain for months on end, facing chemo, and knowing, even in remission, my chance of beating my type of cancer is  about a 1% shot…I find myself thinking of suicide in different terms.  Before, I could not phantom why or how one would consider such an act and actually fall through with it.  I have believed, we can weather our storms.  The sun will shine again, just get through one more day, one more day….just one more…

However, now I can understand the why and how someone could commit suicide.  In my case, I have prayed for death numerous times when the pain has tortured me hours on end.  Yet, here I am another day….just one more day, one more day.  We can weather our storms.  Look where you have to.  To God, to family, friends, helplines, strangers….find a way to work out frustrations….run, lift weights..or do what I do…write for hours on end until you’ve pulled all the pain out and on paper.  Send it out for hundreds to read.  Take comfort that maybe, just maybe someone who feels just like me will read it and put down that gun, or bottle of pills and decide to live one more day, and another….and another….just one more day.

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

One response to Just One More Day…

  1. 

    You are an inspiration, Nae.

Leave a Reply

