The Water Rises

Nae's Nest —  December 3, 2012 — 1 Comment

https://i1.wp.com/tx.english-ch.com/teacher/chris/mermaid.jpg

The Water rises. Slowly, she takes me in. Reclaiming what is hers. Since the time of my birth.  The Water calls me to come home.       Mother’s voice I hear. In the tide as it lashes and in the mist of the air.

The Water rises. Soon, I will be submerged. Everything left behind. On land, my voice no longer heard. No trace of the past. Except for the memories which last.  In this life and the next. Love goes on forever. Like a peaceful dream drifting softly upon water.

The Water rises.  At last, I am submerged.  Another life claimed?  No…  Another life ganged.                                                                 Although I move in for the first time, the Water I call home. All my life She’s been there, while on land I roamed.                                                                                                                     She threatened to claim me before my time.  Being careless, was my crime. She taught me a lesson. As I fell into a pool. In slow motion, I was sinking. I was such a fool.

Going down…

down…

down.

Finally, I lay at the bottom. Bright colors running together, bikini girls eager to flaunt them. Clear blue Water with too much chlorine. Burning eyes and dried out hair. It can be so mean.

Suddenly!

I feel arms wrapping around me.

Pulling me… Pulling me…

The Earth taking me back.

Water’s lesson to help me survive. She’s a good teacher.

Ancients old and centuries wise.

The Water rises.

She pulls me within.  Slowly I go down, looking all around.

Flamboyant color proudly on display. Showing off flashy jewels. I watch, as I go deeper into the pool.

I began to swim with Mother. Swimming better than I ever have. My legs replaced with fin and tail.

Life weaves me a new story. What secrets will be unveiled?

The Water rises, no longer can I tell.                                                                                                                                                Enjoying a new life.                                                                                                                                                                            Living in a shell.                                                                                                                                                                                       A new world to explore.                                                                                                                                                                     Happy and free.                                                                                                                                                                                         I am the lovely mermaid of the great Sea.                                                                                                                                                    I sometimes swim to the top, just a little peek.                                                                                                                                          Of the world above, the sky I seek.                                                                                                                                                             I collect stars and plant in the ocean.                                                                                                                                                    Now I can watch as they sway and glow in motion.

Sometimes it is a great ship I see.                                                                                                                                                          My legend still reins true.                                                                                                                                                                       The men of Earth all love me,                                                                                                                                                             Telling stories they construe.                                                                                                                                                                   As I tease and allow a glimpse of me,                                                                                                                                                         I have lived on through fantasy.

Renee Robinson

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

One response to The Water Rises

  1. 

    I love this, Nae! It’s really compelling and thought-provoking and really well told.

Leave a Reply

