Remote Control Time

Nae's Nest —  December 1, 2012 — Leave a comment

Who keeps tossing rocks in my road?

Every turn I stumble, falter and fall

Are the rocks getting heavier?

They look  so small

Optic illusion distorting the mind

Holding me in

This place and time

I keep making mistakes

Skinning my knees

Briars, thorns

And other disease

The load is too heavy

 Burden of despair

A hidden demon

Out of control

Squeezes the heart

Strangles the soul

Craving Life’s milk

How long will it take

Hanging on tight

Is it too late?

How long is this road?

How many rocks?

Where will it lead?

Please! Stop the clock!

All of these questions

Does anyone one know?

Where are the answers?

The beast in control

At his mercy

A mouse

Under a paw

Ready to be mauled

Pressed and tormented

Under the claw

Is one talon for me?

A terrible thought

Please set me free

Unable to think

In need a space

Where I can flee

Where I can lay

And souls can rest

To dream of the past

Joy

Happiness

Longing to return

Remote control time

Zapping me back

To the birth of my boys

Or take me back

To Daddy’s arms

The safest place

No one can harm

There are memories

Yet to be stolen

Keeping them hidden

In a place of forlorn

A little bit dusty

In the folds of my mind

The pictures still there

Within a deep place

A calming effect

A soothing space

I will stay here

Away from the knife

As long as I can

I will

Enjoy life

Renee Robinson

 

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

