I Am Ready

Nae's Nest —  November 5, 2012 — 1 Comment

She was Cherokee, She stood tall and proud

She passed on her traditions

She passed them on down

Showing me the ways, Of the Cherokee

I am her granddaughter

 I am she, she is me

The last to be trained, Grandmother said

For she was told by the rain, I am the last leaf on the tree

To be taught the way of  The Cherokee

When she was in doubt, she spoke to the fire

She waved a feather over the smoke

The embers she checked, she gave them a poke

 Spilling hot coals over the Earth

The Earth moaned and spat out some stones

Which Grandmother  read and they confirmed

I was the one, I was the chosen

 To take her place  within this realm

A great honor, For grandmother to pass the helm

She had all the answers. She made all of the medicines

If they failed, She knew the Shaman

She would call using frankincense

He would feel her calling and soon he would come

And make things good, and beat on his drum

All would be well again. There would be a feast

Lasting through the midnight hour,

Until finally all would cease

Yes Grandmother could do wondrous things

Was I so worthy?  Will I fill her shoes?  I began to worry

I went to bed with a heavy heart, afraid I could not perform

What if members of the tribe got sick and died

Because I messed up, because I wasn’t ready

Rather than cause so much grief, I would just assume die

I fell into a fitful sleep when a crow appeared

He said I needed some comfort, he let out a “caw”

And at once, Grandma appeared

Together, hand in hand, we floated

We saw ourselves sleeping in bed

We saw the crow as he told us to look ahead

We looked but there was nothing except the dark sky

With one moon and one star, it was cold outside

It was then I heard the voice of the wind

She was telling me to look again

But this time, I was to look with my heart

She said to close my eyes, and look again, make a fresh start

I thought this dumb to see without eyes

How silly was that. I thought the Wind was wise!

But I did as I was told. For there was Grandmother.

She wasn’t too happy, she made me shutter

So I looked again at the sky

With my closed eyes feeling stupid and shy

Slowly, I began to see!  Stunned, I wondered how this could be?

I saw the star, I saw the moon.

They seemed brighter.  They seemed in-tune

I felt like the star, the moon was grandmother

Wherever I was, so was the other

It was then I began to see

A much bigger picture

After death, Grandma would be my moon

I am her, she is me

I’d never be alone for she is within me

She is my moon there wherever I am

Whenever I need her, I just call out her name

I do not call her with my voice

I keep my mouth closed and call with my heart

She will be there, she will offer her help

I had nothing to fear, nothing at all

I am ready to learn her traditions

I am ready to speak to the Winds

To talk with the Earth

I am ready to talk to the fire

And to speak with the waters

To take the helm which she offered me

I will do Grandmother justice

For I am her granddaughter

I am ready to take her hand and to walk in her footsteps

I am ready to take Grandmothers lead

I am ready to make her proud to call out her name

I am ready to succeed

Renee Robinson

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

Leave a Reply

