Appalachian Apparitions

Nae's Nest —  October 28, 2012 — Leave a comment

The people of the Appalachian Mountains have faced some tough time through the years.  The Depression and Wars which included the Civil War.  Many of these people survived  of course.  Unfortunately, many did not.  

Given the history, location, beauty and age of the towns, the Appalachians has earned its place in history being dubbed one of the most beautiful places to visit.  Surrounding all of this history, war and depression however, does impose additional publicity that  was completely unplanned.  These old mountains have many stories hidden in their graveyards, caves and fighting fields.  There are many well documented cases of hauntings all around these mountains and caves.

I have decided to compile a few Halloween Stories based on some of these mysterious true stories.  One reason I have chosen the Kentucky Mountains is because I can proudly proclaim my ancestors are from there.  Both of my parents were born and raised in Canada, Kentucky in Pike County.  This was the notorious Hatfield and McCoy neck of the woods.  As an added note, they too, contributed to the Appalachian’s haunted past.

In honor of Trick or Treat, I decided to dig out a few ghost stories.  The ones I have chosen are all from down around the Appalachian Mnts of Kentucky.  All along those mountains there are stories of haunts.  Many men were killed in the coal mines.  Of course, there were a few moonshiners who managed to get away from the law, but they paid the price of life and now wonder all over these mountains looking for a place they can call home.  So, I guess they really didn’t come out on the winning end. 

Well, I need to get writing.  I hope you will enjoy these stories as much as I have. – Renee

The Appalachian Mountains are known for their beauty.  I know I look forward being in the mountains everytime we visited.  With the parks, festivals and horseback riding, there is plenty to do to keep yourself entertained.

Appalachian Ghosts

After numerous reports of poltergeist activity, DCpages halloween staff investigated Cave Cemetery in Virginia’s Shenandoah National Park.
Mostly members of the Cave Family are buried in this cemetery  Dates on the tombstones indicate range from the mid 1800’s to present. The evening we chose to visit the haunted cemetery was enveloped in a heavy fog. The diffused light hampered our vision and played tricks with our eyes and cameras. As you too will see when you enter the gallery.

The mist shrouded a stalwart tree overlooking skyline drive. There appeared to be a silhouette of a man inviting us to begin our investigation.

Our investigative team brought a psychic dog, Denali, to help sense the unseen. As we were walking down Dark Hollow Falls trail, Denali began to whimper at a dark presence just ahead. At this moment, some of the team members decided to turn back.

As time approached midnight the Cave Cemetery residents bid us to leave their sanctuary. We packed up and the mist followed us back to Dark Hollow trail and to our warm beds back home.

As we entered Cave Cemetery all my hairs seemed to raise. I felt a dark static field that wrapped around my body. My sense of writing this story overpowered the growing fear of covering something that did not want publicity.

As I approached the grave site water vapor appeared around the tombstones  This may have been caused by a temperature fluctuation.

Here is the Gravestone of Bertha V Buracker. The burial mound behind is new.

A low fog travels around a Confederate States of America (CSA) soldier grave marker.

As I focused my camera on this headstone I noticed the water vapor formed into the head of a man looking at me. My heart slowed at what I was seeing. Then the mist was gone.

This is gravestone is for Layton Sisk, who served as a private for Company L, in 10th Virginia Confederate Infantry. This famous unit served under General Stonewall Jackson. I could almost feel the horror stories this man had experienced in life.

As time approached midnight the Cave Cemetery residents bid us to leave their sanctuary. We packed up and the mist followed us back to Dark Hollow trail and to our warm beds back home.

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

