Haunted by A KIller

Nae's Nest —  October 20, 2012 — 2 Comments

I just can’t grasp how woman are still looked upon as no better than cattle in some countries. Does’nt every man feel his own mother deserves respect?….evidently not from other articcles I have read. In this article it is the mother of his own children who gets no respect.

National Post | News

There is one sentence that has tormented interpreter Najib Shams these past four years, seared into his memory after a chance encounter with a killer.

“I took the small knife and then the big knife.”

Peer Khairi uttered these words during a Toronto police interview in the early-morning hours of March 19, 2008, one day after he plunged a blade into his wife’s chest and slit her throat to the bone.

Mr. Shams, employed by a local interpreters’ service, was tasked with translating Mr. Khairi’s Dari words into English. Parts of the interview have faded from memory, he said Friday, but never the comment about the two knives.

“[This is] the sentence that always haunts me and always bothers me,” Mr. Shams testified at Mr. Khairi’s second-degree murder trial in Ontario Superior Court.

[np-related /]

This is not a trial to determine whether Mr…

View original post 560 more words

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

2 responses to Haunted by A KIller

  1. 

    No one should have the the power of life and death over another human, but wives and daughters are often the victim of such hateful crimes. Anyone who could do such a thing does not know the true meaning of love..

Leave a Reply

