The Shadows

Nae's Nest —  September 16, 2012 — 3 Comments

The only sound I hear

Alone in the shadows

Is my racing heart

I was attacked

While playing in the meadow

My fear grows as the night draws in

Trees seem to grow in size

Many sounds are unfamiliar

I walk the shadows, mesmerized

What am I to do?

Where can I go?

I need a place to hide

A secret place in this meadow

Fearful I am

Of the dark night

Alone and in pain

After a fright

A man was here

Trying to attack

I thank heaven

I was able to fight back

Please give me light

To show me the way

Out of the meadow

Please listen while I pray

I have no home

I am all alone

Dumped in these woods

By a past Love

All day I have roamed

Looking for work

I have no money

Thanks to that Jerk

Please hear my plea

Whisk me away

Put me under a spell

Safe with the Fae

I could live with them

Take care of their homes

I would make a good maid

Don’t let me roam

Oh! Who am I kidding?

They may not want me

What am I to do?

What will happen to me?

Glittering under the moon

A little food and money

Is that for me?

It was then that I saw

A beautiful fairy

With wings of a butterfly

And a face that was merry

She wink and smiled

And went inside a knot in a tree

But not before looking back

And waving at me

I looked inside

The tree was roomy

Plenty of room

Enough space for me

Quickly I crawled

Inside of the tree

I lay upon a bed of leaves

That were waiting for me

Thank you Sweet Fae

For watching over me

So scared I was

I was in misery

As long as needed

She said I could stay

Safe I would be

All fear castaway

So there I stayed

For a few days

Until I found a job

And moved away

I will never forget

The kind fae

So gracious they were

To take me away

Renee Robinson

 

 

 

 

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

3 responses to The Shadows

  1. 

    Beautiful and haunting at the same time…..Peace, Jaz

Leave a Reply

