Call Of The Drum

Nae's Nest —  August 7, 2012 — 6 Comments

There is a man in the tree looking at me

He is a Doctor in his own way

Also supplies food and shelter

His leaves can be brewed into a sweet tea

Symbol of renewal, fertility

He has a great love for all that lives

He has a desire to protect

If one will listen

He has hundreds of stories

That he could tell

Stirring, mysterious, vital

And prophetic with the fortunes he can foretell

He will happily allow you to climb his branches

So long as your intent is good

Permission will be granted

He is a kind old man who has seen many things

His wisdom is vast

It is amazing how many do not ever take the time

To really look at him

To see his beauty, strength and intelligence

To desire to know of his past

A loving and captivating

Old Soul is he

Why not pack up a snack

Go out to the woods

Sit down and listen to what he has to say

Perhaps ask to climb upon his branches

He may even leave you a gift

A nut or a pinecone

Maybe a variety of treats

If you take the time

To walk around

To visit his with his friends

I know you will enjoy

You can even bring the family

Let the kids learn to love nature

There is so much to offer

So much fun and enjoyment

An educational outing

Free and exciting

The call of the jungle

Is shouting out

I hear the beat of the drums

Go out! Go out!

Take the kids

Let them get out

And run

Let them climb a tree

And have some fun

The call of the jungle

Is shouting out

Let the kids hear

The heartbeat

Of nature’s

Drums

Renee Robinson

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

6 responses to Call Of The Drum

  1. 

    I gotta ask… I dunno why it comes to me like this… But… Is this about squirrels?

  2. 

    I love to look at fallen trees
    no more to stand and face the breeze
    lying now in death’s repose
    yet nurturing, what around them grows.
    Once tall and mighty, reaching high
    now upon the ground they lie.
    What brought about their crashing end?
    I know of where, but not of when!

    I enjoyed this post very much.

Leave a Reply

