Preening For Chemo

Nae's Nest —  June 19, 2012 — 9 Comments

I close my eyes and I have wings

Beautiful, I look beautiful!

Light and free

I can go anywhere

I choose to be

Around the globe

Or perhaps New York City

I could go the Broadway

Take in some shows

Write a play

All full of hope

Maybe I’ll go to Vegas

Breathtaking at night

Vegas can be viewed

From miles away

What an amazing sight

I will spread my wings

Preen my feathers

As I look around

I have done all I wanted to

But here I am

Soaking in a bubble bath

Alone….

Alone…

Alone in this dream

Alone with these wings

Dreams are a fantastic escape

Lasting just a moment

All wishes come true

When I awake

Poof! My wings are gone

Along with the beauty

Of fantastic shows

In amazing cities

Where dreams come true

What an irony

I am left behind

Alone with reality

Slapping me across the face

I have to bathe without any bubbles

Get dressed and leave

Without the ease

And beauty of wings

Ride down to the hospital

Where are the shows?

Get hooked up to chemo

Where are the lights?

Drop by drop

My eyes getting heavy

Back to my dreams

Dreams of the dark

Dreams of a monster

Cancer is his name

But when I awake

He is still here

Renee Robinson

Nae's Nest

Posts

I find myself "Dancing With Cancer", problem is...I can't dance. I stumble, bumble, and get pulled along. To keep my sanity, (humor me), I write short stories, a journal, musings and poetry....just about anything goes.

9 responses to Preening For Chemo

  1. 
    Chatter Master June 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Wow. Powerful.

    • 

      Working up the strength to do what I have to for the next few days. I suppose is nothing any of us would to, only in our different way.

      • 
        Chatter Master June 20, 2012 at 11:38 am

        I love and appreciate your ‘self talk’ and your fortitude. God bless Nae, and I pray for your comfort and health.

      • 

        Thanks, I am always a bit concerned of sounding winy and depressing. But, when I started this blog, is was to share cancer in everyway I am experiencing. Some in hope of taking some of the fear of the unknown away. Others, to cry my eyes out and also admit to the times I am falling apart and wanting to give in. In my case, LOVE keeps me from giving. Beyond family and old friends, my blog has even become a wonderful outlet for me which I had not counted on. For this reason, it gives me even more hope that it will help others too. I also went back to much of the writing I used to do. However, I do need to get back to children’s stories and a couple of novels. My poetry written here, usually inspire by something someone else has said. I enjoy that immensely and helps keep my sanity duct tape in chec

      • 
        Chatter Master June 20, 2012 at 6:52 pm

        I’m encouraged by you. Daily. For what you are dealing with, and still you create, you encourage. I don’t see you being “whiny or depressing”, feeling like crap and soldering on and stating how things are… facts are facts. Dealing with them the best way you can is courage. I’m glad you are finding inspiration. And a good supply of duct tape. 🙂

  2. 

    Nae, this is one of your best. Such powerful imagery, so eloquently said.

  3. 

    Every one of your poems touches me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

