Archives For December 31, 2011

Hope’s Song

Nae's Nest —  December 31, 2011 — 3 Comments

Excuse me sir, If you would be so kind, I am looking for someone, I just cannot find, Her beauty is truly something to behold, If you have seen her, You would know, I have been told

Shaking his massive head, the man replies:

I have seen no one who meets this description.  I would know if I have, For as you can see, I am old and wise

He looked at me, Pointed and continued:

Someone who has great beauty, As you claim, Would not have anything to with you, Why you are small and puny, You must be insane,  Why it would be a crime!  You have no significance!  Go away, You are wasting my time

I walk on a little further, Though I am getting weak, I must find this lady, I must touch her cheek

In a little while, I come upon someone else, She was looking in a mirror, Her beauty was pleasing, Though somehow I knew, She was only teasing

Clearing my throat, I begin to mutter:

Excuse me Miss, Please if you would help me, I would be ever so grateful.  I am looking for a woman whose beauty is to behold and she is filled with love, I have been told

Clearly this woman did not like my interruption, putting the mirror down, she vainly replied:

I am the beauty you seek, I am the envy of all, My time is very valuable, I have no use for you all, I have many men who depend on me, My beauty holds them prisoner, You are a mere speck of dust, You I can’t even remember

Hurt beyond belief, I continued to stumble on, So weak my head is hanging, But still I carry on, I need to find this woman, I need her to lead the way, I need her to show me where the light is, I fear I have gone astray

Suddenly, I hear a voice, Someone calling my name, Eagerly I lift my head, To see a handsome saint, He was very inviting, Welcomed me in, He made me quite comfortable, Asking if I was tired, Offering a blanket and began to transpire:

I hear you are seeking a beautiful lady. Indeed she is a vision,  She asked me to intervene, I am here to help you, I am here to be seen, Trust in me, I assure you, I shall lead the way, I will even carry you, At no extra pay, Just sign on the dotted line, To make this transaction. I promise you no regrets, Only complete satisfaction

Something didn’t feel right, Something out of place, Something I couldn’t put my finger on, Nervously my heart began to race, What was I doing here?  Why was I making this trip?  When all I ever wanted was to be home with my kids, I am having an optical illusion, This man is not for real. Reading the fine print, I see my soul he wants to steal!

Frightened I jump and run out the door, The demon hissing after me, You will be back for sure! This woman who you seek has left you in your time of need, If you would only trust in me, I will take care of you indeed, I promise you all the riches of this earthly world, I will gladly greet you when you come knocking on death’s door, I will not turn you away, I have a warm place saved, You are making a mistake, This is an offer you should take!

Very soon I am out of breath, The demon far behind, I collapse on  this path, I will nap for a time

When I awake, To my surprise, I am being carried in the arms of a  vision, Whose beauty I cannot describe, She is singing softly to me, A song of heavenly tune, The notes float past her lips, lifting up beyond the moon

Too amazed for words, I simply listen to her tune, A healing melody sent from God, Telling me it is too soon, My time has not quite come, Though it is near, Hope will carry you on, Do not ever fear, This moment is not your time, Though be prepared for tomorrow, Death is around the corner, But you should not sorrow, Hope will lead you in the right direction, Just hold to her hand, When your time comes, She will lead you to the promised land, Until then be content in her arms, No matter what lay ahead, Temptation, Pain and Fear lurk around every bend, They will pull and torture, Causing you great pain, Just close you eyes, Think of the Lamb, And His bloodstain, He will come into your heart, His blood will beat for you, Soothing and calming and always loving you

I close my eyes, Finally at peace, Softly I float on musical notes, Giving me needed relief, Hope restored and flooding my soul, I will go on further in time

Growing Love

Nae's Nest —  December 31, 2011 — 1 Comment

Growing Love

Windows opening
Beams of love
Sunlight filtering
Heartstrings tugged

Rays of hope
Sharing of hearts
Warmed by the light
Never to part

Passions desire
Sunbeams bright
Inflamed with fire
Holding tight

Sunshine mingles
As hearts meet
No longer single
Becoming complete

New love grows
The sun heats
Passions ignite
Our hearts beat

Coming together
From heaven above
To be cherished
Grow into love

by Renee Robinson

To Hell With Men

Nae's Nest —  December 31, 2011 — 1 Comment

Baby New Year

Bringing in a brand new year
Without confetti and noisy cheer
In a hospital, eyes closed tight
Squeezing legs with all my might
Trying to hold this baby in
Five more minutes, new year begins
Lots of presents, lots of glitter
Stand to lose, if I birth this critter
Holding tight, contractions strong
Have been at it all night long
I am tired and ready to scream
How I wish this were a dream
I won’t do this, I change my mind
I want to go home, this should be a crime
A woman should never, have to do this
To hell with men, this isn’t worth it
To think this started with a touch
Groped in the night a bit too much
To think he had the nerve to do this
Climb on top, with hardly a kiss
He thinks soon he will get laid
When hell freezes, that will be the day
Happy New Year and all of that crap
Push baby out, and call it a wrap
Baby all wrinkly, looks like a prune
Tiny fingers and a soft croon
In love with little boy
Not worth with holding, for free baby toys
Had I squeezed him out five minutes ago
This hell would be over, the end of this show
by Renee Robinson

The Baldwin Family

Nae's Nest —  December 31, 2011 — Leave a comment

Baldwin Family

 

Family Tree

September 11, 2010

 

Dear Diary,

This weekend is the annual Baldwin Family reunion located in the beautiful mountains of Kentucky. While I was born in Ohio, both of my parents are originally from KY. Growing up, we visited KY so often, it was as if I had been born there and I am very I proud of that fact.

My daddy has 19 brothers and sisters. I recall many visits spent around Grandma’s ole piano. Uncle Jon played, Aunt Leona and Daddy would play guitar. My beautiful Aunts and Mom would sing gospel hymns.

I remember the fun and excitement my Aunts and Uncles would have with each other. They were all like little kids with the pranks, jokes and contagious laughter. (Remember Daddy and his “jams”? He wore those before they were invented!)

Although my family is enormous in size, somehow my Aunts and Uncles managed to make me feel special. They were all so good at making sure to spread all the love around to each and every one of the many,  many nieces and nephews.

It seemed those days would never end. However, time has passed. Grandma and Grandpa are with God. Uncles Paul and Joseph passed many years ago. Gentle Aunt Bernice is the one who has most recently passed on.

I grew up, married and began a family of my own. Somehow, I have managed to get caught up in my own life and cannot even recall the last reunion I attended. After joining the Facebook family and reconnecting with some of my aunts, uncles and cousins, it dawned on me how quickly time has passed.

Another generation has grown up and are now beginning there lives. It occurred to me that I have been away so long, I may not even recognize some of my own family, and I know they would not recognize me.

I wanted to attend last year’s reunion, but I already had airline reservations made for a long-planned vacation to Maine. I promised myself, I would definitely attend this year’s reunion.

Little did I know what this past year had in store for me. Within just a few weeks after returning from my vacation to Maine, I began experiencing severe pain.

After emergency room trips, hospital stays, surgeries and countless tests,  I am to discover I have stage 3 colon cancer. Had the cancer not been discovered when it was, I would have died within the year. There would be no more family reunions. No grandchildren to one day spoil. No sunshine or vacations. My entire perspective on life completely changed this past year. I realized just how much each and every one of you mean to me. (My family and friends).  You are all what make life worth living for. Without you, I would have nothing.

With this said, I want the Baldwin clan to know how much I wish I could be present for this year‘s reunion, I want to know how Mary Rose is doing (my cousin who also received a cancer diagnosis just about the same time as I). I want to see and hug Aunt Nancy with extra special care and love for she recently discovered she has breast cancer. Her journey is just beginning and I really would love to hold her tight.

Although the chemo is behind me, I suffer from, most likely, a permanent side effect leaving me unable to walk without assistance.

Due to the uncontrolled instability and pain, I am unable to attend the reunion. I have lost the sense of touch. Given time, I believe l will be able to adjust and learn to manage both the pain and unsteadiness better.

Someone who has lost their sight have other senses which become more vibrant. I am waiting for my other senses to kick in to help me cope a little better. There are people who suffer from much more painful and debilitating diseases than myself and many of them seem to adjust very well. I just need some time for my nerve endings and brain functions to rewire my programming.

Keep me in your prayers. God willing, I will be able to attend next year‘s reunion. I want to see your smiling bright faces. Love you all.

Love’s Water

Nae's Nest —  December 31, 2011 — 1 Comment

Tugging the strings of the heart

Tying them together, bringing them closer

Rate this:

Continue Reading...